

Administrative Office of the Courts

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Oct. 13, 2022

Contact: Barry Massey, public information officer

bmassey@nmcourts.gov

505-470-3436

New attorneys take oath for admission to practice law in New Mexico

ALBUQUERQUE – Ninety-five new attorneys were admitted to the practice of law in the state of New Mexico during a swearing-in ceremony today.

The oath of attorneys was administered by Supreme Court Chief Clerk Elizabeth A. Garcia during the ceremony outside of the University of New Mexico School of Law. Each of the individuals also signed the roll of attorneys, which contains the names of people licensed to practice law in the state.

"This is a memorable day for each person because it represents the culmination of many years of hard work and commitment to the goal of becoming an attorney," said Chief Justice C. Shannon Bacon. "This is a proud moment for each of the new attorneys along with their family members, friends and mentors."

The swearing-in ceremony was the first to be conducted in-person since the fall of 2019 because of public health concerns from the pandemic.

"Becoming a licensed attorney is a milestone but also the start of a journey following the rule of law to further the public good," said Justice Julie J. Vargas.

"We congratulate the new members of the State Bar of New Mexico and celebrate their achievements in graduating from law school and passing the bar exam," said Justice Briana H. Zamora. "Attorneys play a vital role in society as advocates in our legal system for fairly and equitably resolving disputes in accordance with the law."

At the ceremony, Justices Vargas and David K. Thomson served as sponsors for their law clerks – Elisa Cibils and Alyssa Maria Isabel Segura – and made brief remarks for their admission to the state bar.



Supreme Court Chief Clerk Elizabeth Garcia (standing at the podium) administers the oath to new attorneys for their admission to the practice of law in New Mexico. Seated next to the podium (left-to-right) are Justice Julie J. Vargas, Justice Michael E. Vigil, Chief Justice C. Shannon Bacon, Justice David K. Thomson and Justice Briana H. Zamora. (Photo courtesy of the Supreme Court.)