## NEW MEXICO PRC NOMINATING COMMITTEE

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

BRIAN EGOLF, CHAIR
ALONZO BALDONADO, SECRETARY
RON LOVATO
RIKKI SEGUIN
CYDNEY BEADLES
WILLIAM BRANCARD
DENISE RAMONAS



P.O. Box 1269 Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269

> CHIEF OF STAFF Wayne Propst

*Media Contact:* Patrick Rodriguez, PIO (505) 490-7910

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 18, 2022

## PRC Nominating Committee to conduct interviews with Commissioner candidates during its next three meetings

SANTA FE, N.M. — The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (PRC) Nominating Committee today approved a list of 13 Commissioner applicants to interview during its next three regular meetings on October 25, November 7, and November 8. A Subcommittee will also meet before the October 25 meeting to further evaluate five additional applicants and recommend to the full Committee whether to invite any of them to interview.

New Mexico voters two years ago approved to change the makeup of the Commission from an elected five-member body to a three-member executive-appointed panel. Additionally, Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham signed legislation establishing a bipartisan PRC Nominating Committee tasked with evaluating candidates to fill vacancies on the Commission.

For the next class of commissioners, the Nominating Committee will recommend at least five candidates to Governor Lujan Grisham, who will then appoint three of them to serve on the new Commission to begin staggered six-year terms on January 1, 2023, subject to approval by the state Senate. The final list recommended to the Governor must include candidates from at least three different counties in New Mexico to provide geographical diversity, and the new Commission may not include more than two members from the same political party.

Below are the names of the 13 applicants invited to interview, including their political party affiliation and county/state of residence.

- Gabriel Aguilera, Democrat, Washington, D.C.
- Amy L. Stein, Democrat, Florida

- Arthur O'Donnell, Independent, Bernalillo County
- Brian Moore, Republican, Curry County
- Carolyn Glick, Independent, Santa Fe County
- Cholla Khoury, Democrat, Bernalillo County
- Glen Lyons, Independent, Texas
- Jeffrey Peace, Republican, San Juan County
- Joseph Little, Democrat, Bernalillo County
- Ken Costello, Independent, Santa Fe County
- Patrick O'Connell, Democrat, Bernalillo County
- Ward Camp, Independent, Bernalillo County
- Cynthia B. Hall, Democrat, Bernalillo County

Below are the names of the five candidates whose applications will be further reviewed by the Subcommittee, including their political party affiliation and county/state of residence.

- Jason Burns, Republican, Eddy County
- Scott Karns, Republican, Santa Fe County
- James Ellison, Independent, Bernalillo County
- David Baake, Democrat, Doña Ana County
- Donatella Pasqualini, Democrat, Santa Fe County

Who: Public Regulation Commission Nominating Committee

What: Regular Committee Meeting

When: October 25, November 7, and November 8 at 9:00 a.m. MDT

Where: Room 309 or 307, New Mexico State Capitol, 490 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501;

online via https://nmlegis.gov/

**Public Comment:** To sign up for public comment, please email patrickj.rodriguez@prc.nm.gov

The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (NMPRC) regulates the <u>utilities</u>, <u>telecommunications</u>, and <u>motor carrier</u> industries to ensure fair and reasonable rates, and to assure reasonable and adequate services to the public as provided by law. The NMPRC also promotes public safety through the offices of <u>Pipeline Safety Bureau</u> and <u>Transportation Division</u>.