

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 9, 2023 Contact: Joaquin Romero joaquin.romero@nmlegis.gov (505) 506-5798

Senate Republicans Urge Opposition to Proposed EV Mandate

SANTA FE—Next week, the unelected members of the Environmental Improvement Board (EIB) will consider a rule requiring auto manufacturers to deliver to New Mexico forty-three percent zero-emission vehicles beginning with model year 2027. The proposed rule increases that percentage to eighty-two percent by model year 2032.

Today, members of the Senate Republican Caucus submitted a letter to the EIB expressing their opposition to the proposed rule. **Senator Gregg Schmedes** (R-Tijeras), the primary author of the letter, issued the following statement:

"This rule is clearly drafted and driven by those who have little interest in doing what is right or prudent for the people of New Mexico. I hope the EIB members look beyond the political pressures and table this measure immediately."

"The overwhelming majority of New Mexicans have not purchased an electric vehicle, nor do they plan to do so in the near future. The technology, reliability, and price are simply not realistic at this time and our local infrastructure is not yet prepared for such a transition. Every family should be able to select a vehicle that best fits their needs and budget. That decision must not be made for them, especially by an unelected board of political appointees."

The letter is attached below.

###



New Mexico State Senate

STATE CAPITOL Santa Ife 87501

November 9, 2023

Environmental Improvement Board 1190 Saint Francis Drive, Suite S2101 Santa Fe. NM 87505

Sent via email to pamela.jones@env.nm.gov

Public Comment for EIB 23-56 (R): In the Matter of Proposed Amendments to Re: 20.2.91 NMAC - New Motor Vehicle Emission Standards

Dear Members of the Board:

We, the undersigned members of the New Mexico Senate, are writing to express our opposition to proposed rule EIB 23-56 (R), mandating that 82 percent of all new vehicles sold in New Mexico be zero-emission by 2031.

The magnitude and impact of this proposal are severe, and as such, a thorough vetting by the citizens of our state and their elected legislators is necessary. As Senators, we must act in the best interest of our constituents, and this excessive mandate ignores their wishes, both in principle and practice.

The decision to transition to an electric vehicle should be made on an individual basis. Currently, less than one percent of all New Mexicans have done so. Mandating the transition will not decrease the high cost of electric vehicles, nor improve reliability of the technology. It will, however, levy an additional financial burden on hard working families.

Further, the impracticality of this measure cannot be overstated. Our state is largely rural, with limited access to charging stations, making traveling across New Mexico nearly impossible in an electric vehicle. Our rural communities are also facing damaged and degrading roads and highways, and electric vehicles do not pay the gas tax which is used to repair our aging infrastructure. In short, our existing technology and infrastructure are simply not prepared for electric vehicle transition, and consumers should not be stripped of other options.

Every New Mexico citizen and/or business must be able to select a vehicle that best fits their needs and budget. They must not be compelled to do otherwise, especially by an unelected board. We strongly urge you to reject this rule and leave the decision making authority on issues of this scale to the people and their duly elected representatives.

Sincerely.

GREGG SCHMEDES, M.D.

State Senator

Environmental Improvement Board November 9, 2023 Page 2

GREGORY A. BACA State Senator Senate Republican Leader

MARK MOORES

State Senator

Senate Republican Caucus Chair

DAVID M. GALLEGOS

State Senator

STEVEN McCUTCHEON II

State Senator

CLIFF R. PIRTLE

State Senator

WILLIAM E. SHARER

State Senator

CRAIG W. BRANDT

State Senator

Senate Republican Whip

WILLIAM F. BURT

State Senator

RON GRIGGS

State Senator

STEVEN P. NEVILLE

State Senator

JOSHUA SANCHEZ

State Senator

PAT WOODS

State Senator